Good Thinkers, Good Learners

Village Infants

Contact Us

Contact Details

Social Media



Pupils will be taught to sound out and blend unfamiliar printed words quickly and accurately using their phonic knowledge.  Village Infants follows the Letters and Sounds: Principles and Practice of High Quality Phonics, Six-phase Teaching Programme from Phase one in the Nursery through to Phase six in Year 2 (see link below) 

Pupils will be taught Phases 1,2,3 and 4 throughout the Foundation Stage.  Phases 3 and 4 will be re-visited in Year 1 and Phase 5 will be taught with additional catch up programmes in place where necessary.  At the end of Year 1 all pupils will take the Year 1 Phonics Screening Test.  Any pupils who fail this test will be given additional phonic intervention and will re-take the test the following year in Year 2.  This will take place alongside the teaching of Phase 6 in Year 2.  There will be movement between the phases as appropriate to pupils developing phonic knowledge. 

Helping your child at home


PhonicsPlay - (Phases 5 and 6)

BBC Bite Size - Deep Sea Phonics

OxfordOwl - (Expert help - Phonics made easy)

9 3 3 0 2 Visitors